Sleeping on a Dreamer

Remember way back then?
When we were new friends?
Still cool to pretend
That we weren’t both jerks?

Then the real set in.
And our chill just went.
We were both too bent
To attempt making it work.

Whether I wrecked you,
Or you wrecked you,
It was painfully true
That you weren’t alone.

With a foot in your shoe,
And a moment of truth,
Had to do what I do
Just to make you atone.

Recognize I was smitten.
In my eyes, I’m forgiven.
In my life I’m still winning
Watching these bridges burn.

Verbal sniper, no witness!
Message sent like remittance!
You say no f**ks were given,
I say none were returned.

Leave a Reply

