The O-Men: The Series Part 2

Proverbs 6:16-19

“These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:
A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,
An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief, false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.”

The “abominations” Father McGann spoke of are not physical creatures as I had presumed when first I began studying his texts. They are sins against the Lord; unspeakable crimes that drive the souls of men.
The “others”, however are entirely physical; biblical creatures like the giant Goliath and the dry-bone army the prophet Ezekiel spoke of.
It is the verse in the book of Genesis that Father McGann found most fascinating; a verse that, for him, seemed to aptly explain every super-being throughout the history of Earth.

The Nephilim. The product of a union between “sons of God” and the “daughters of men” in Genesis 6:4 that seemed to explain his own miracle….a man who could live for centuries. Father McGann dedicated his entire life to researching, cataloging and observing the numerous individuals like himself who to this very day inhabit the Earth.

Individuals like me.

My name is Lucius Oliver. I am the parish priest here at Our Lady Garrison Parish here in Topeka, Kansas. This is where Father McGann has all of his many texts and even ancient weaponary for those who seek to destroy mankind.

We simply will not allow that to happen.

Today, however, would seem an even more intriguing day. A young woman has come to the parish for confessionals; a young lady that I have been expecting for a very long time…ever since her mother passed away. Though she would seem to have her information a bit skewed as she seems to think that the late Father McGann may be her father….

“Father?”

“Yes, my child?”

“Did you hear me, Father?”

Of course I heard you. It’s sounds like a ghost in my ears. The wailing of a specter in the night. How could she have discovered about the parish? Our sanctuary? Stronghold?

“I heard you, my child,” I said at length. “I do not think that is possible, however.”

Actually, it was impossible! Father McGann was incapable of the thought of copulating with “sheep” as he called them. A practice he considered both amoral and illogical; why downgrade ourselves to fraternise with inferior beings? The humans, for all of their similarities to us, are little more than ants…and as ants, to be tread upon as needed.

But they are NOT ants, are they? And even ant’s have a purpose on the Earth.

“I know it sounds pretty crazy, Father,” the fragrant young woman spoke, her inhuman scent still strong in the air about me. “But my mother…when she had passed…I found this old book in her room…”

What?!! She could NOT have been that stupid! Why didn’t she destroy it like I instructed?

“Book, child?”

“It’s really old…in a funny language…well, at first. It’s all in English now…”

Did she realize all of the danger she would be putting this girl in? All of those years with one of Father McGann’s texts? How did she survive? How had either of them survived this long without our help?

Was this girl…could she be…

“…it is really weird,” she continued. “It glows. It talks about really weird stuff…and it mentions Father McGann a few times.”

“Father McGann, child?” I say, grabbing my phone from my pocket. The other’s in the parish should be aware that we may all be in danger now. I had only begun to start texting when I caught the faintest of whiffs in the air; something pungent, like vinegar or gasoline. Distasteful. But the scent was rising fast!

“My mom never let me meet my dad,” the girl continued. “I really didn’t know what else to do. I mean, I was born here in Topeka, but we grew up in Memphis. And my Father wasn’t there at the hospital when I was born so I guess he never had an interest in who I was either…”

“You couldn’t be more wrong, child.”

The smell was rising. Almost unbearable. This was a very, VERY powerful individual. And judging by the scent of it, not a very nice one either.

“Father? What do you mean?”

“No time to explain! Aaron! Get her out of here!”

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

